Brannigans is located on Cathedral Street which runs from Dublin’s iconic O’Connell Street to Marlbourough Street. The street as well as the pub has a long and rich history in Dublin folklore.

In 1803, Archbishop John Thomas Troy bought Lord Annesley’s townhouse on the corner of Marlbourough Street and Elephant Lane, now called Cathedral Street and within sight of the city’s premier thoroughfare, Sackville Street, which is now Dublin’s O’ Connell Street. Here the Bishop planned to build on this location the new ‘Pro-Cathedral’ which was completed on 14 November 1825.